常见问题/问题解答

什么是 HDPE?

HDPE 是高密度聚乙烯的缩写词。这是一种韧性、耐久和基本惰性的热塑性塑料,由乙烯聚合物组成。开始时是半透明、坚韧的固体。在管道级树脂中,乙烯-己烯共聚物中常有碳黑染料以具有耐候性。

请简单解释一下什么是对接熔焊?

聚乙烯管材和配件一般采用对接熔焊来连接。使用的是一台熔接机,把管材和/或配件夹在固定位置上。然后铣盘切削刃修理要对接的两端。将加热板夹在要连接的两段之间。然后移去加热板,将两端拼接在一起,等其冷却。点击此处可以观看熔接的过程动画。[LINK: clicking here]

对接熔焊的连接处有多牢固?

如果遵照制造厂商关于熔接的建议去做,接缝的牢度会跟管材本身一样牢固。甚至在焊接至数百英尺或更长时,整段的HDPE管道仍可被拉动而不破坏,因为你其实做出来的是整段管子的一个部分。

ISCO 出租和销售HDPE管道系统熔接设备吗?

我们有超过 300 件熔接设备可供租售。我们可以满足从½" 到 63" 的任何HDPE管材熔接的需求。有关McElroy熔接设备的具体信息请点击此处查看。[LINK: clicking here]

我已经有一些自己的熔接设备。ISCO 有提供零件或修理服务吗?

我们是McElroy 熔接产品的授权服务中心,这说明我们在肯塔基州的路易斯安纳和阿拉巴马州的亨茨维尔都有工厂认证的修理技术员。

更多信息请见本网站“熔接租赁与服务”部分。[LINK:Fusion Rental and Services]

我知道 PVC 管材容易修理。HDPE管材修理容易吗?

HDPE在大多数应用中比PVC更加耐用和灵活。如果使用正确的熔接方法,HDPE 的连接不会像PVC那样断开。聚乙烯管材挠性较好,抗冲击能力优于 PVC。HDPE 可以承受深达管壁厚度10% 的划痕而不降低管道压力等级。PVC 对切割很敏感,这意味着PVC 比较更容易因割伤、裂纹或划伤而断裂。HDPE 管道系统承受压力激增的能力也比PVC强,这说明压力激增引起的修理会较少。

如果聚乙烯管道系统需要修理,电熔接是最简单的修理方式之一。使用修理夹箍(就像 JCM Industries提供的那样)就是一种传统的管材修理方法。

点击此处可找到更对关于电熔接的信息。[LINK: clicking here]

HDPE管材会冻坏吗?

PVC的结晶温度是华氏 32 度,这时它会变得脆若玻璃。HDPE管材的结晶温度是华氏 - 180 度,意味着HDPE破坏的可能性较低。事实上,水可以在HDPE管道内反复冻结和化冻,而不会给管道造成永久性损坏。

什么是HDPE 管材的压力等级?

根据管材的尺寸,聚乙烯管道的压力等级最高达华氏73.4度条件下每平方英寸267磅,内建安全指数2:1。

我怎样知道对于我的项目,HDPE材料是最合适的选择?

希望您能花点时间时间浏览一下我们的网站,了解我们为您提供帮助的承诺。

Ask a Question

We are ready and able to provide the assistance you need to supply a sound, long-lived polyethylene piping system. Give us the opportunity to help you.

Fill out this form or E-mail us at sales@isco-pipe.com.

Find the Sales Representative for your area.

Fax us at (800) 831-ISCO.
Call us at (800) 345-ISCO.

FAQ/Ask A Question

What is HDPE?

HDPE stands for High Density Polyethylene. It is a ductile, durable, virtually inert thermoplastic composed by polymers of ethylene. It begins as a translucent, tough solid. In pipe grade resins, ethylene-hexene copolymers are usually specified with carbon black pigment for weatherability.

What is a simple explanation for butt fusion?

Typically, polyethylene pipe & fittings are connected by means of butt fusion, which is done by utilizing a fusion machine that holds the pipe &/or fitting in a stationary position. A facer that has a cutting blade then trims the ends to be mated. A heater plate is positioned between the ends to be connected. The heater is then removed and the ends are brought together and allowed to cool. You can see an animation of the fusion process by clicking here.

How strong is a butt fusion joint?

By following the manufacturer’s recommendations for butt fusion, the weld becomes as strong as the pipe itself. It is even possible to pull several hundred feet or more of HDPE pipe after it has been butt fused together, since you actually have created a section of monolithic pipe.

Does ISCO rent and sell fusion equipment for HDPE piping systems?

We have over 300 pieces of fusion equipment available for rent and for sale. We can help with any fusion need from ½" to 63" pipe. Specific information on McElroy fusion equipment can be found by clicking here.

I already own some fusion equipment. Does ISCO have repair parts and service available?

We are an Authorized Service Center for McElroy fusion products, which means we have factory certified repair technicians in both Louisville, Kentucky and Huntsville, Alabama.

For more information, check out our Fusion Rental and Services.

I know that PVC pipe is easy to repair. How easy is it to repair HDPE pipe?

HDPE is more durable and forgiving in most applications than PVC. By using proper fusion methods, HDPE does not have joints that fail like PVC. Polyethylene pipe is more flexible, and has greater impact resistance than PVC. HDPE can handle a scratch as deep as 10% of the wall thickness, without reducing the pressure rating of the pipe. PVC is notch sensitive, meaning PVC pipe has a higher inclination to fracture because of a notch, crack, or scratch. HDPE piping systems are also more surge tolerant than PVC, which means less repairs caused from pressure surges.

If a polyethylene piping system is in need of repair, electrofusion couplings are one of the simplest ways to facilitate repairs. Clamp-around repair couplings, like those available from JCM Industries, offer a traditional method of pipe repair.

More information on electrofusion couplings can be found by clicking here.

Will HDPE pipe freeze?

PVC pipe has a crystalline temperature of 32 degrees F, at which point it becomes as brittle as glass. HDPE pipe has a crystalline temperature of - 180 degrees F, which translates into less potential for failure. In fact, water can freeze & thaw repeatedly inside of HDPE pipe, without causing permanent damage to the pipe.

What is the pressure rating of HDPE pipe?

Depending on the size, polyethylene pipe has pressure ratings up to 267 psi @ 73.4 degrees F, with a 2:1 safety factor built in.

How can I be sure that HDPE is the material of choice for my project?

Hopefully you have taken a few moments to review our website, a demonstration of our commitment to assisting you.

Ask a Question

We are ready and able to provide the assistance you need to supply a sound, long-lived polyethylene piping system. Give us the opportunity to help you.

Fill out this form or E-mail us at sales@isco-pipe.com.

Find the Sales Representative for your area.

Fax us at (800) 831-ISCO.
Call us at (800) 345-ISCO.